Published: 13.12.2022 Updated: 01.04.2023

Latvijas Banka is the central bank of Latvia.

Latvijas Banka is a derived public person. It is independent in making and implementing its decisions and is not institutionally or functionally subordinated to any central or local government institution.


Latvijas Banka is governed by the Council which is elected by the Saeima of the Republic of Latvia for a term of five years.

The bank's Governor is the chairperson of the Council. Since 2019, the Governor of Latvijas Banka is Mārtiņš Kazāks.

The Council takes decisions on behalf of Latvijas Banka. 

Each Council Member operates within their respective areas of responsibility.


Latvijas Banka's organisational structure comprises departments responsible for executing the defined functions and processes and achieving their results. 

Committees and Commissions

The activities of Latvijas Banka are managed and overseen by the collegial authorities – committees and commissions representing various areas.